You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this Website SybaseTeam.Com...
Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister) Remember Me? Current time: 09-03-2014, 03:57 AM
   Home  |  About Us  |  Sybase Training  |  Synergy  |  Consulting  |  Job Openings  |  Tech Videos  |  Rules and Disclaimer  |  Search
Post Reply 
Forum Tools
Using large raw partitions with Replication Server on Unix.
09-08-2009, 03:47 PM
Post: #1
Quote this message in a reply
Using large raw partitions with Replication Server on Unix.


Using large raw partitions with Replication Server on Unix.

It is a good practice with production installations of Replication Server on Unix that you use raw partitions for the stable devices. This is for just the same reason that production ASE's use raw partitions. Raw devices can be a maximum of 2GB with replication server up to release 11.5. (I have not checked 12.)

In order to utilise a raw partition that is greater than 2GB in size you can do the following (remember all of the cautionary warnings about trying this sort of stuff out in development first!):

add partition firstpartition on '/dev/rdsk/c0t0d0s0' with size 2024
go
add partition secondpartition on '/dev/rdsk/c0t0d0s0' with size 2024
starting at 2048
go

Notice that the initial partition is sized at 2024MB and not 2048. I have not found this in the documentation, but replication certainly seems to have a problem allocating a full 2GB. Interestingly, do the same operation through Rep Server Manager and Sybase central caused no problems at all.



JP,
TechSupport-Member(SybaseTeam.Com)
Find all posts by this user
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  sybase replication server in Microsoft cluster sicute 0 1,238 06-10-2013 12:30 AM
Last Post: sicute
Question Sybase Replication Server Interview Questions updated sybanva 2 6,139 08-21-2010 03:34 PM
Last Post: sybanva
  How to replicate col = col + 1 using Sybase Replication Server crazYoga 0 2,189 02-01-2010 10:23 AM
Last Post: crazYoga
  What is the Difference Between Replication Server and SQL Remote crazYoga 0 2,550 02-01-2010 10:18 AM
Last Post: crazYoga
  Responisibilities of Sybase Replication Server crazYoga 0 2,057 02-01-2010 10:13 AM
Last Post: crazYoga
  How do you check if sybase replication server is running or not Nagendra 0 3,727 10-27-2009 03:07 AM
Last Post: Nagendra
  transaction log on OLTP is filling in Sybase replication server Joshi 0 2,671 09-08-2009 03:53 PM
Last Post: Joshi
  Running out of locks on the replicate side in Sybase Replication server? Joshi 0 2,791 09-08-2009 03:52 PM
Last Post: Joshi
  Which should I use, RepAgent or LTM in Sybase Replication server? Joshi 0 2,194 09-08-2009 03:50 PM
Last Post: Joshi
  How to replicate col = col + 1 in Sybase replication server? Joshi 0 1,876 09-08-2009 03:48 PM
Last Post: Joshi

Options:
Forum Jump:


Contact Us | SybaseTeam | Disclaimer & Rules | Return to Top | Return to Content | Lite (Archive) Mode | RSS Syndication