You are not logged in or registered. Please login or register to use the full functionality of this Website SybaseTeam.Com...
Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister) Remember Me? Current time: 04-23-2014, 03:03 PM
   Home  |  About Us  |  Sybase Training  |  Synergy  |  Consulting  |  Job Openings  |  Tech Videos  |  Rules and Disclaimer  |  Search
Post Reply 
Forum Tools
syslogins changed in ASE15 upgradation using dump and load
01-16-2010, 03:21 AM
Post: #1
Quote this message in a reply
At syslogins changed in ASE15 upgradation using dump and load


Hi Folks!!

syslogins system table is changed in ASE 15 from ASE 12.5, It has more coloum related for lock reason, lock date, suid which locked this login etc.

If you doing upgrade from 12.5 to 15.0 using dump and load, and your dataserver has around 20+ logins you may need to be very cautious, in that case bcp in of syslogins(of ASE 12.5) wont possible in ASE15 and you can not create 50-100 logins manually using sp_addlogin with same as ASE 12.5 config(same password, settings) .

In my case , we manually edited our bcp out file of ASE 12.5 and added same no seprator to excatly matched the coloumns of ASE 15 and did the bcp in. It worked.

Before editing of bcp in file, make sure you have a copy of that file, and edit it very carefully with seprator, wth no new line char.

If you have done it in some other way, share with all!


Thanks



Regards,
AnVa
TechSupport-SeniorMember
Sybase Forum : Sybase Blog : Sybase Wiki
Synergy Project (SybaseTeam.Com)
Find all posts by this user
03-19-2010, 01:26 AM
Post: #2
Quote this message in a reply
RE: syslogins changed in ASE15 upgradation using dump and load


I came accross one more method as below:

Before doing bcp out, We can create new syslogins_temp table same as ASE15.0 syslogins with new coloums and perform select into from ASE12.5 syslogins in this new syslogins_temp table after that take the bcp out from syslogins_temp and, after final upgrade bcp in...no problem at all ...

Its very safe..!!



Regards,
AnVa
TechSupport-SeniorMember
Sybase Forum : Sybase Blog : Sybase Wiki
Synergy Project (SybaseTeam.Com)
Find all posts by this user
07-02-2012, 11:52 AM
Post: #3
Quote this message in a reply
RE: syslogins changed in ASE15 upgradation using dump and load


Yes I agree sybanva, this is the safest and most preferred method for doing this. But how is this taken care in case of inplace upgrade. Does the ugrade process itself takes care of the syslogins table when we run the upgrade script?


Find all posts by this user
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Exclamation dump tran getting failed frequently mvsramarao 1 470 02-12-2014 10:14 AM
Last Post: archanarpitha
  Steps for sybase Ase 15 upgrade using Dump and load approach chandrashekhar 3 6,030 08-16-2011 08:09 PM
Last Post: Julz
Cool Sybase ASE 12.5 to 15 Upgradation Steps -II sybanva 3 4,364 06-07-2011 02:57 AM
Last Post: sybanva
Cool Sybase ASE 12.5 to 15 Upgradation Steps -I sybanva 1 4,783 10-27-2010 07:34 AM
Last Post: techsupport
  Ase 15 upgrade using Dump and load approach chandrashekhar 0 2,802 08-03-2010 02:06 AM
Last Post: chandrashekhar
  Sybase upgradation to ASE 15,advantages,why sybase 15 upgrade? etc - by Rob Verschoor albert 0 3,598 03-28-2009 11:53 AM
Last Post: albert
  Sybase Adaptive server enterprise ASE 15 upgradation document sybaseteam 0 2,252 03-25-2009 06:47 PM
Last Post: sybaseteam
  sybase 15 upgradation process - happened at Lombard - involving sybase support zaadmin 0 1,649 03-21-2009 05:06 PM
Last Post: zaadmin

Options:
Forum Jump:


Contact Us | SybaseTeam | Disclaimer & Rules | Return to Top | Return to Content | Lite (Archive) Mode | RSS Syndication